The Research and Study Centre History and Societies (CREHS) is a French higher education research centre (EA 4027) based at the University of Artois. It comprises historians, historians of art and of the arts, and archaeologists, mostly members of the University of Artois. Its present membership (on January 1, 2015) stands at 29 full-time teachers and researchers (13 entitled to supervise doctoral students), 16 associate researchers and 16 doctoral students. It benefits from the close collaboration of a research engineer and a secretary, responsible for administration and research support, and of an ingénieur d’études in charge of scientific communication.

The research conducted by the CREHS covers the different periods of History (from ancient times to today) and is organized around three major themes: History of education, Religious identities, Heritage. Territories. Economy. The CREHS is also involved in facilitating public access to research tools via its project Promotion and critical edition of historical sources.

A particular emphasis is put upon research conducted within national and international research networks open to multidisciplinarity (ANR, GDR, etc.). The CREHS is also highly involved in the local and regional communities and devotes a large part of its work to the archaeology, history and heritage of the Spanish Netherlands (Artois, Flanders, Brabant, Hainaut…), which remain particularly important despite centuries of wars.

Located in the Maison de la Recherche (Arras), the CREHS offers researchers and doctoral students a privileged intellectual and material environment, less than two hours by train from most of the major archival depositories and centres of North Western Europe.

Présentation du CREHS

Le Centre de Recherche et d’Études Histoire et Sociétés (CREHS) est une équipe d’accueil (EA 4027) qui regroupe des historiens, des historiens de l’art et des arts et des archéologues, pour la plupart affectés à l’université d’Artois. Il compte au 1er janvier 2015 aujourd’hui 29 chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs et enseignants titulaires (dont 13 habilités à diriger des recherches), 16 chercheurs associés ainsi que 16 doctorants. Il bénéficie de l’étroite collaboration d’une Ingénieur de Recherche et d’une Secrétaire, responsables de la gestion administrative et de l’accompagnement à la recherche et d’un Ingénieur d’Études en charge de la communication scientifique.

Les recherches menées au sein du CREHS recouvrent les différentes périodes de l’histoire (de l’Antiquité à nos jours) et sont structurées en trois axes : Histoire de l’éducation, Identités religieuses, Patrimoines. Territoires. Économie. Le CREHS s’investit également dans l’accès du public aux outils de recherche dans le cadre de son projet Valorisation et édition critique de sources historiques.

Le CREHS privilégie le développement de ses recherches au sein de réseaux nationaux et internationaux (programmes ANR, GDR, etc.) sur des thématiques ouvertes à la pluridisciplinarité. Il est également fortement impliqué dans le tissu régional, et consacre une part de ses travaux à l’archéologie, à l’histoire et aux patrimoines des provinces constitutives des anciens Pays-Bas (Artois, Flandres, Brabant, Hainaut…), dont la richesse, en dépit des ravages des innombrables guerres, reste remarquable.

Implanté à la Maison de la Recherche à Arras, il offre aux chercheurs et aux doctorants un environnement intellectuel et matériel privilégié, à moins de deux heures de train de la plupart des grands dépôts d’archives de l’Europe du Nord-Ouest.